The Hobbit 2

The Hobbit 2 Release Date: December 13, 2013

From Academy Award-winning filmmaker Peter Jackson comes The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, the second in a trilogy of films adapting the enduringly popular masterpiece The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien.

The three films tell a continuous story set in Middle-earth 60 years before The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring, which Peter Jackson and his filmmaking team brought to the big screen in the blockbuster trilogy that culminated with the Oscar®-winning The Lord of The Rings: The Return of The King.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug continues the adventure of the title character Bilbo Baggins as he journeys with the Wizard Gandalf and thirteen Dwarves, led by Thorin Oakenshield, on an epic quest to reclaim the Lonely Mountain and the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor.

Having survived the beginning of their unexpected journey, the Company continues East, encountering along the way the skin-changer Beorn and a swarm of giant Spiders in the treacherous forest of Mirkwood. After escaping capture by the dangerous Wood-elves, the Dwarves journey to Lake-town, and finally to the Lonely Mountain itself, where they must face the greatest danger of all – a creature more terrifying than any other; one which will test not only the depth of their courage but the limits of their friendship and the wisdom of the journey itself – the Dragon Smaug.

Ian McKellen returns as Gandalf the Grey, with Martin Freeman in the central role of Bilbo Baggins, and Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield. The international ensemble cast is led by Benedict Cumberbatch, Evangeline Lilly, Lee Pace, Luke Evans, Ken Stott, James Nesbitt, and Orlando Bloom as Legolas. The film also stars (in alphabetical order) John Bell, Manu Bennett, Jed Brophy, Adam Brown, John Callen, Ryan Gage, Mark Hadlow, Peter Hambleton, Stephen Hunter, William Kircher, Lawrence Makoare, Sylvester McCoy, Graham McTavish, Dean O’Gorman, Mikael Persbrandt, and Aidan Turner.

The first The Hobbit movie was released in movie theaters December 14, 2012. The final in The Hobbit trilogy from Peter Jackson, The Hobbit: There And Back Again, arrives in theaters July 18, 2014.

The Hobbit movies are prequels to The Lord Of The Rings big screen trilogy.

CLICK the image below to see the enhanced image of the poster.

WATCH the first footage from The Hobbit Part 2: The Desolation of Smaug, below.

Starring: Cate BlanchettBenedict CumberbatchMartin FreemanLuke EvansHugo WeavingOrlando BloomEvangeline LillyRichard ArmitageManu BennettLee Pace
Genres: AdventureDramaFantasy
Directed By: Peter Jackson
Runtime: 54 minutes
Studio: WB
Total Box Office: 258.4 MIL
MPAA Rating Unrated

The Hobbit 2 Posters and Photos

  • The Hobbit 2
  • The Hobbit 2